Album Review: Ministry of Sound – SessioNZ 2013

Rating: 3.4 out of 5

Following the success of the first ever Ministry of Sound compilation made for New Zealand by New Zealand, SessioNZ 2013 is a 2CD offering has been crafted by the best Kiwi DJs to conquer your eardrums all over again.

The sound:

Ministry of Sound has always been about dance music; SessioNZ 2013 is no exception and doesn’t disappoint. The first disc is mixed by General Lee – host of the Ministry of Sound Radio Sessions on ZM –  while the second disc includes otherworldly mixing by Daniel Farley and Sam Hill.

The tracks:

Disc One has some ridiculously catchy dancefloor track selections like Bom Bom by Sam and the Womp, and We’ve Only Just Begun from Michael Woods feat. Ester Dean. Plus there are some great local offerings such as the new Shapeshifter track Diamond Trade, and Ruby Frost’s Water as Ice.

Disc Two is a bit more serious ranging from international hyped productions to house to bass, with standout tracks including Law & Disorder from Optimus Gryme & Misfits of Zion, After Midnight by Yolanda Be Cool and Get Free by Major Lazer.

The verdict:

Fantastic for cardio sessions and going for a run, as the bpm is generally fast enough to keep you at a regular quick pace – though you may have to wait for the beat to drop! – while the music is continuous so you won’t have time to stop and realise you’re getting tired.

If you want to see and hear it live, there’s already a SessioNZ 2013 national tour underway with dates scheduled throughout March. Check out the Facebook page for more details.

General Lee | www.facebook.com/general.lee.rocks
Daniel Farley | www.facebook.com/danielfarleydj
Sam Hill | www.facebook.com/djsamhill

Image / Universal Music

Scroll to Top